The Tilghman Traveling Fellowship: In 1976, Dr. and Mrs. R. Carmichael Tilghman established the Tilghman Traveling Fellowship in the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

The Tilghman Traveling Fellowship will be awarded periodically to young members of the medical faculty, who are native-born citizens of the United States, to assist them during a sabbatical leave of up to one year to travel outside the Baltimore area to pursue new theories, methods, and techniques in their chosen discipline.

The recipients are to be selected by a committee composed of the Dean of the Medical Faculty, the Vice Dean for Faculty, the Vice Dean for Research, the Vice Dean for Clinical Investigation, the Associate Dean for Research Administration, and the Directors of the Departments of Medicine and Pediatrics. Both full and part-time members of all departments in the School of Medicine shall be eligible for consideration. Those whose proposed work during the sabbatical year looks toward clinical application will be given the strongest consideration.

Guidelines are available at Applications may be submitted at any time, but should be submitted at least 60 days prior to the proposed travel.

The Shing Yuk Yau Memorial Fund: The fund was established in 1984 in memory of Shing Yuk Yau by his family and friends. Its purpose is to help defray traveling expenses for visiting Chinese scholars studying medicine at Hopkins. Preference is given to students and faculty studying subjects relating to the brain. The Fund fosters continuing exchanges between the School of Medicine and the Chinese Academy of Sciences.